Every record on this site names its source and what could not be confirmed
The data was collected and checked on 2 October 2026. A record was included only when its key facts could be read from a named page. Where part of a record could not be confirmed, the third column says which part. Live wind, cloud, swell and sea temperature come from Open-Meteo at the moment the page loads and every 10 minutes after that.
What was left out, and why
- Wine estates without a five-star wine in Platter’s 2026 guide, because the lower star ratings are published only in the guide itself. Kanonkop, Haute Cabrière, Boschendal and Groot Constantia fall in this group.
- Tokara, Boekenhoutskloof, Le Lude, Holden Manz, Creation and Leeu Passant hold five-star wines but are missing: a current tasting price or a winery-level Vivino score could not be read for them.
- Burger and taco specials. Several were found, but none had both a 2026 price and a Google and Tripadvisor score.
- Paternoster restaurants. No fixed price for a crayfish menu could be confirmed.
- The Knysna Oyster Festival and Franschhoek Bastille Festival, which are held in July, outside the November to April season.
- The Postberg trail, which opens only in August and September.
- A live Shark Spotters flag. Shark Spotters publishes no public data feed, so the site links to it and gives its phone number.
- Cameras at Kite Beach and Victoria Bay, where none could be confirmed, and at Big Bay, where the Atlantic Surf stream was offline when checked. Only the Muizenberg stream is embedded.
How the recommendation is made
The recommendation is a fixed set of rules, in src/lib/capeDoctor.ts. Wind is read at 29 spots and trailheads, at each beach and wine valley, at Blouberg and on the Table Mountain summit. The wind at Blouberg sets the regime: southeaster for 100° to 185°, southwester for 185° to 270°, northwester for 270° to 20°, and light wind below 12 km/h.
- A kite spot is good when the wind is within 34° of a listed direction and inside the spot’s knot range.
- A surf spot is good when the swell is inside its height range and the wind is offshore or below 15 km/h. Above 25 km/h of cross or onshore wind it is marked as blown out.
- A beach is good when it is sheltered from the current regime, or when the wind there is below 18 km/h. It is marked to skip when exposed and the Blouberg wind is 28 km/h or more.
- A trail is marked to skip when gusts reach 55 km/h on a fully exposed route or 70 km/h on a partly exposed one. Routes that reach the Table Mountain plateau use the summit gust and are downgraded when low cloud covers 70% of the sky.
- A wine valley is good when the wind there is below 22 km/h.
The scenario buttons replace the live wind with a synthetic one scaled by how exposed each place is. They exist to show what the rules do in a strong wind and are labelled as scenarios wherever they are in use.
Surf, kite and wing spots (17)
| Record | Sources | Not confirmed |
|---|---|---|
| Kite Beach, Blouberg | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Big Bay | Atlantic Surf Co surf report and camera; Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Melkbosstrand | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The position is approximate. |
| Langebaan Main Beach | capetown-webcam.com West Coast cameras; Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The camera page exists, but whether the camera was online was not checked. |
| Shark Bay, Langebaan | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The position is approximate. |
| Elands Bay | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The position is approximate. |
| Muizenberg Surfer's Corner | Muizenberg Wave Watchers live stream; The Corner Surf Shop camera; List of Muizenberg cameras; Shark Spotters: operating beaches and hours; Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Glen Beach | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Llandudno | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Long Beach, Kommetjie | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The position is approximate. |
| Scarborough | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Misty Cliffs | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Dungeons | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The position is approximate. |
| Victoria Bay | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. |
| Buffels Bay | Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The position is approximate. |
| Robberg Beach, Plettenberg Bay | Shark Spotters: operating beaches and hours; Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. Which five Plettenberg Bay beaches Shark Spotters covers was not confirmed, so this spot is not marked as monitored. |
| Mossel Bay Inner and Outer Pool | capetown-webcam.com Garden Route cameras; Open-Meteo marine and forecast APIs (live readings); OpenStreetMap (location) | Ideal wind, swell and tide are standard local guidance for this spot, not figures from a single published source. The position is approximate. The camera page exists, but whether the camera was online was not checked. |
Wine estates (17)
Trails (12)
| Record | Sources | Not confirmed |
|---|---|---|
| Platteklip Gorge to the Table Mountain plateau | OpenStreetMap route relation 2934380; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m; TMNP and WSAR emergency numbers as published in rescue reports | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. |
| India Venster | OpenStreetMap route relation 6693845; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m; TMNP and WSAR emergency numbers as published in rescue reports | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. The OpenStreetMap relation tags the route at 2.3 km and 680 m of ascent. |
| Lion's Head summit | OpenStreetMap route relation 14144595 (Lion's Head Summit); Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m; TMNP and WSAR emergency numbers as published in rescue reports | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. |
| Skeleton Gorge from Kirstenbosch | OpenStreetMap foot route along Smuts Track; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m; TMNP and WSAR emergency numbers as published in rescue reports | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. The line ends at the top of the gorge, not at Maclear’s Beacon. |
| Elephant's Eye Cave, Silvermine | OpenStreetMap foot route from Silvermine Dam; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m; TMNP and WSAR emergency numbers as published in rescue reports | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. |
| Cape Point to the Cape of Good Hope | OpenStreetMap path “Cape of Good Hope”; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m; TMNP and WSAR emergency numbers as published in rescue reports | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. |
| Jonkershoek Panorama Circuit | OpenStreetMap route relation 7144288 (Panorama Trail); CapeNature: Jonkershoek Nature Reserve; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. The emergency number comes from a search summary of the CapeNature day-visitor sheet and was not read on the sheet itself. |
| Robberg Point Circuit | OpenStreetMap foot route around the peninsula; CapeNature: Robberg Nature Reserve; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. Fees and hours come from a search summary of the CapeNature page. |
| Half-Collared Kingfisher Trail to the waterfall | OpenStreetMap paths “Half Collared Kingfisher Trail”; SANParks Garden Route National Park notices; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. The duration is for the return walk. |
| Tsitsikamma Waterfall Trail | OpenStreetMap route relation 20602097 (Waterfall Day Trail); SANParks Garden Route National Park notices; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. The duration is for the return walk. |
| Storms River Mouth suspension bridge | OpenStreetMap route relation 6176504 (Mouth Trail); SANParks Garden Route National Park notices; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. The bridge length is quoted from general knowledge of the park. |
| Otter Trail (five days) | OpenStreetMap route relation 1383551 (Otter Trail); SANParks Garden Route National Park notices; Elevation: OpenTopoData SRTM 30 m | Distance and climb are computed from the OpenStreetMap line and a 30 m elevation model, so they can differ by 5 to 15 percent from signposted figures. The duration is walking time across the five days and is an estimate. |
Food specials (13 deals, 46 day entries)
| Record | Sources | Not confirmed |
|---|---|---|
| Yatai Ramenbar: Ramen Rush: any medium ramen for R119 | Yatai: weekly specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | Nothing outstanding |
| Yatai Ramenbar: Sushi Bento Rush: 20-piece bento for R199 | Yatai: weekly specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | Nothing outstanding |
| Café Extrablatt: Monday Pizza Madness: two large pizzas for R277 | FoodBlog Cape Town: Monday specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | Which pizzas are included was not stated in the listing. |
| Café Extrablatt: Happy hour: cocktails for R45 | Cape Town Magazine: happy hours; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | The source was last updated in January 2026. |
| Blowfish Restaurant: Monday seafood platter for R140 | FoodBlog: Bloubergstrand specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | What the platter contains was not stated in the listing. The map position is approximate. |
| The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch: Tuesday Date Night: two courses for two, R499 | restaurants.co.za: Stellenbosch specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | The price is per couple. The offer ends on 27 October 2026 unless renewed. |
| The Hussar Grill Stellenbosch: Seasonal lunch: any two courses for R199 | restaurants.co.za: Stellenbosch specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | The offer ends on 30 November 2026 unless renewed. |
| The Hussar Grill Franschhoek: Tuesday Date Night: two courses for two, R499 | restaurants.co.za: Franschhoek specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | The price is per couple. The offer ends on 27 October 2026 unless renewed. |
| The Hussar Grill Franschhoek: Seasonal lunch: any two courses for R199 | restaurants.co.za: Franschhoek specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | The offer ends on 30 November 2026 unless renewed. |
| De Vier: Two Aperol spritzes and two small plates for R249 | FoodBlog: Stellenbosch specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | Nothing outstanding |
| The Lookout Hout Bay: Oysters at R16.50 each, all day | The Lookout: daily oyster special; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | Nothing outstanding |
| Den Anker: Two pots of moules marinières with frites for R500 | FoodBlog Cape Town: Monday specials; FoodBlog Cape Town: Sunday specials; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | The days come from the listing’s tags; the offer may run on other days too. |
| Die Strandloper: Ten-course beach seafood feast for R440 | Die Strandloper: opening days and booking; Dining-OUT: Die Strandloper menu and price; Restaurant Guru (Google and Tripadvisor scores) | The restaurant’s own site lists no price. R440 and the December increase come from the Dining-OUT listing, read through a search summary. |
Events (12)
| Record | Sources | Not confirmed |
|---|---|---|
| The Galileo Open Air Cinema 2026/27 | Webtickets: The Galileo Open Air Cinema 2026/2027; The Galileo | The season runs across several venues on different nights; the map pin marks Kirstenbosch only. |
| Red Bull King of the Air 2026 | Red Bull King of the Air 2026 FAQs; Red Bull event page | The window dates come from a search summary of the Red Bull FAQ page; the page itself did not load when fetched directly. |
| Kirstenbosch Summer Sunset Concerts: Leon Bridges | Inside Guide: Kirstenbosch concerts 2026/27; SANBI: 2025/26 season prices and times | The full 2026/27 line-up had not been confirmed when this was checked. Only the two international dates were found. |
| Kirstenbosch Summer Sunset Concerts: Jack White | Inside Guide: Kirstenbosch concerts 2026/27; SANBI: 2025/26 season prices and times | The full 2026/27 line-up had not been confirmed when this was checked. |
| Franschhoek Cap Classique & Champagne Festival | Franschhoek Cap Classique & Champagne Festival; The Newspaper: festival announcement | Nothing outstanding |
| Spier Light Art 2027 | ART AFRICA: Spier Light Art 2027; Bizcommunity: 2027 open call | It is an art exhibition; the event model has no art category, so it is filed under Live Music. Entry price and opening time for 2027 were not published in the sources read. |
| Cape Town Cycle Tour 2027 | Cape Town Cycle Tour | The start venue and route length are from earlier editions and were not confirmed for 2027. |
| Cape Town Carnival 2027 | Cape Towner: carnival returns on 20 March 2027 | A parade, filed under Live Music because the event model has no parade category. Free street viewing is the practice in earlier years and was not confirmed for 2027. |
| Totalsports Two Oceans Marathon 2027 | SABC Sport: Two Oceans confirms 2027 dates | The finish venue is from earlier editions; the organiser announced a new format for 2027, so check the route. The map position is approximate. |
| Bay Harbour Market: Friday night | Bay Harbour Market | A weekly market; the dates shown are the first and last Fridays of the season. The map position is approximate. |
| Oranjezicht City Farm Market: Wednesday night | Cape Markets: Oranjezicht City Farm Market | A weekly market; the dates shown are the first and last Wednesdays of the season. |
| Blaauwklippen Family Market | wine.co.za: Blaauwklippen Family Market; Cape Markets: Blaauwklippen Family Market | Hours come from a search summary of these listings. The brief named it a night market; the listings show daytime hours only. |
Map and elevation
Base map: OpenFreeMap vector tiles built from OpenStreetMap. Trail lines: OpenStreetMap route relations and foot routes from routing.openstreetmap.de. Elevation: SRTM 30 m through OpenTopoData. Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors.